How to make mosaics with recycled glass using resin…diy

If you have a kiln, glass bottles and patience you can do this!  When I googled making mosaics I found a lot of information on grouting but not much on how to use resin.  So from my limited knowledge and mistakes I hope I can help someone who has the desire to do this.

!…Break the bottles.  (Oh yeah clean them first) I put them one at a time in a cardboard box.  Cover with a towel.  Then smash with a hammer. Always wear safety glass.

2.  Now I arrange them in my kiln and run it to around 1500 degrees to get a flat piece of glass.

kiln recycled glass

3.  I use either old window panes or picture frames to glue the glass to.  With the old wood windows I have found I have to chalk  them most of the time.  I also light sand them to take away any paint that might fall off.  I like the vintage look so this is all I do to them.  With the picture frames I take the back off and them chalk the glass to the frame with clear chalk.  I have used Mac glue and e6000.  I prefer e6000 because it is cheaper and dries faster.  Most would argue on this point but it is my opinion. Clean window and start gluing your design!

set up to mosaic recycled glass

How I set up my glass and window pane to start gluing.

4.  Let it dry.  Overnight is usually ok with e6000.  Needs to be in a warm place.

IMG_1702

My mountain scene before resin.

recycled glass from bottles mosaic

My cherry tree before grouting

5.  I bought a UV stable epoxy resin.  In time if in direct sunlight I think all resins will yellow but the uv stable will help it last longer.

IMG_1686

This is the grout and resin I used.

6.  Mix according to directions.  I did my first ones outside so I got some bugs and trash embedded in them….I still like them though!  Now pour the resin on your masterpiece. Make sure you pour it on a level surface. I did it a little at a time and used a putty knife to move around.  Used too much the first time but I had other mosaics already glued so I used all resin.  (it’s expensive so you do not want to waste).

IMG_1737

Resin is setting up on an inside table!

IMG_1719

See the bugs and trash!

Finished Pieces

tree small mosaic by the river recycled glass

5×7 picture frame tree

IMG_1721

11.5×14.5 blue sunburst

IMG_1704

5×7 rainbow

RECYCLED glass mosaic with resin sunburst

11.5×14.5 yellow sunburst

I am new at this so any suggestions are welcome;)

Thanks

13 comments

  1. jeff · September 30, 2014

    Thanks for the insight and inspiration. Jeff

  2. holly · April 27, 2015

    Did you have to sponge off any excess resin?

    • Nina Fette · April 27, 2015

      No you want to make sure you only do what you need. Which is hard in the beginning but I have others ready so I can use excess. Also, I like using envirotex lite. You can clean up with water and soap.

  3. Anonymous · December 24, 2015

    Adding some diamond dust on clear resin will give a nice frosty look.

  4. Anonymous · December 24, 2015

    Adding some diamond dust on clear resin will give nice frosty look. I use it all the time with acrylic paints too.

  5. Leone Sutton · January 23, 2016

    Do you order your resin online? I have been doing some mixed media recycled glass mosaics in windows and am toying around with the idea of using resin but have only found it in small amounts locally.

    • Nina Fette · January 23, 2016

      Hi Leone! Here is where I order from…http://store.creative-wholesale.com/ProductDetail/tabid/174/ProductID/15/Default.aspx
      I would be interested in seeing some of your work:)

      • Leone Sutton · January 24, 2016

        Awesome! I will check it out. Thanks so much 🙂 I will share pictures with you once I get a few more done. I used silicon in my first one and really liked the look of it for what I was doing. It was a wave so it helped to give some texture and depth to it. I am using silicon for the one I am working on now as well. But I am thinking about a few ideas that I want to have that fluid look to them and will have to brave using the resin 😉

  6. Cathy Clofford · June 26, 2017

    I teach classes and have had a few windows break several weeks after I resin them. Have you ever had this happen? HELP!!!!!

    • Nina Fette · June 26, 2017

      Yes!!! What I have started doing is putting a coat of resin on the back also. In the broken ones use a foam brush to push resin in the cracks and most of the time it will go into them. I have asked a few others if they have had this happen and you are the first to say it has. Other than that I guess you could change out glass with a thicker piece. I hope this helps.

  7. Jeanne · August 20, 2017

    Thank you so much for the helpful information I’m just starting to work with glass on glass mosaics Really love them Do you grind down the edges of the glass first or do you find that the resin flows over and keep everything smooth?

    • Nina Fette · August 20, 2017

      No I don’t grind them down. I put all my bottle glass in the kiln and it makes it smooth.

Leave a comment